World Trade Symposium 2016

Highlights from the World Trade Symposium, June 2016

Ken Ash photo
Ken Ash

Director of Trade and Agriculture, OECD

Roberto Azevêdo photo
Roberto Azevêdo

Director-General, World Trade Organisation

Steven Beck photo
Steven Beck

Head of Trade Finance, Asian Development Bank

Shawn Donnan photo
Shawn Donnan

World Trade Editor, Financial Times

Mark Elborne photo
Mark Elborne

President & CEO, GE UK & Ireland

Philippe Gelis photo
Philippe Gelis

CEO & Co-founder, KANTOX

Pankaj Ghemawat photo
Pankaj Ghemawat

Economist, Global Strategist, Speaker and Author

Michael Gidney photo
Michael Gidney

CEO, Fairtrade Foundation

Pascal Lamy photo
Pascal Lamy

President Emeritus, Jacques Delors Institute and Former Director-General, World Trade Organisation (WTO)

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama photo
Hosuk Lee-Makiyama

Director, European Centre for International Political Economy (ECIPE)

Douglas Lippoldt photo
Douglas Lippoldt

Senior Trade Economist, Global Research, HSBC Holdings

Alexander R. Malaket photo
Alexander R. Malaket

President, OPUS Advisory Services International and Deputy Head of the Executive Committee, ICC Banking Commission

Áine Markham photo
Áine Markham

International Board Member, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF)

Simon Paris photo
Simon Paris

Joint Chair, World Trade BoardPresident and Chief Sales Officer, Misys

Wisam Salih photo
Wisam Salih

Founding Director, Council on International Policy (CIP)

Nadeem Syed photo
Nadeem Syed

Chief Executive Officer, Misys

Henrik Von Scheel photo
Henrik Von Scheel

CEO & Co-founder, LEADing Practice, Board Member, Google EMEA, Gazprom, Global University Alliance and Capital Investment Partners and Bestselling Author

Markus Wohlgeschaffen photo
Markus Wohlgeschaffen

SVP Product Management, TrustBills GmbH


  • Tram Abramov – Head of Product, MarketInvoice

  • Rakesh Bhatia – Advisory Board Member, Fintonia Group and Former Global Head of Trade, HSBC

  • Enrico Camerinelli – Senior Analyst, Aite Group

  • Brian Caplen – Editor, The Banker

  • Nicolas Cary – Co-Founder, Blockchain

  • Rita Clifton – International Branding Expert and Chairman, BrandCap

  • Clarissa Dann – Editor-in-chief, Trade & Forfaiting Review (TFR)

  • James Doran – Senior Editor and Head of Content, DMCC (Dubai Multi Commodities Centre)

  • Edle Everaert – Senior Executive, Accenture

  • Courtney Fingar – Editor-in-chief, fDi Magazine, Financial Times Group

  • Rt Hon Dr Liam Fox MP – Member, Vote Leave Campaign Committee and former Conservative cabinet minister

  • Jonathan T. Fried – Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada, World Trade Organisation (WTO)

  • Ruediger Geis – Head of Product Management Trade Transaction Services and Financial Institutions, Commerzbank AG

  • Anabel González – Senior Director – Trade & Competitiveness Global Practice, World Bank

  • Martin Haering – Chief Marketing Officer, Misys

  • Hugh Halford-Thompson – Chief Technology Officer, BTL Group

  • Eddie Harding – Investment Director, ICON Corporate Finance

  • Michael Hogan – General Manager and Regional Head of Transaction Banking Sales – EMEA, MUFG

  • Dr. Marion Jansen – Chief Economist, International Trade Centre (ITC)

  • Michael King – Chairman, Credits and CEO, PeerPay Limited

  • Robert Koopman – Chief Economist and Director of Economic Research and Statistics Division, World Trade Organisation

  • Iza Lejárraga – Head of Unit, Investment Policy Linkages, Investment Division – Directorate for Financial and Enterprise Affairs, OECD

  • Steve Leonard – CEO, SG Innovate

  • John Longworth – Chairman, Vote Leave Business Council

  • Joy Macknight – Transaction Banking and Technology Editor, The Banker

  • Tim Martin – Chairman, JD WETHERSPOON PLC

  • Melodie Michel – Deputy Editor, Global Trade Review (GTR)

  • Dr. Simon Missiri – Regional Director, Europe International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies

  • Kevin Murray – Managing Director, Greenlight Commerce

  • Marco Nindl – Principal Banker – Trade Facilitation Programme, European Bank for Reconstruction (EBRD) Financial Institutions

  • Brian Pallas – CEO & Founder, Opportunity Network

  • Richard Reed – Co-founder – innocent drinks, Art Everywhere, JamJar and The Reed Page Foundation

  • Philipp Rossberg – Chief Operating Officer, Euler Hermes Aktiengesellschaft Federal Export Credit Guarantees

  • Gadi Ruschin – CEO, Wave

  • Markus Rupprecht – Founder and Chief Strategy Officer, Traxpay

  • Yasmin Saadat – Product Head for Trade & Commodity Finance, International Finance Corporation (IFC) Financial Institutions Group

  • Chandrakant Salunkhe – Founder and President – SME Chamber of India

  • Dinesh Sharma – Senior Manager, Accenture, Capital Markets

  • Kati Suominen – Founder & CEO, Nextrade Group; Founder, TradeUp Capital Fund; and Senior Advisor, World SME Forum

  • Lucy Thomas – Deputy Director, Britain Stronger In Europe

  • Michaël Van Steenwinkel – Global Credit Manager, BP Petrochemicals

  • Nick Williamson – CEO and Founder, Credits

  • James Zhan – Senior Director of Investment and Enterprise, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Full List of Organisations Who Attended World Trade Symposium 2016, London

The Banker
LEADing Practice
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The Fairtrade Foundation
International Finance Corporation (IFC) Financial Institutions Group
Britain Stronger In Europe
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
World Trade Organisation (WTO)
HSBC Holdings
European Centre for International Political Economy (ECIPE)
Council on International Policy (CIP)
Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF)
GE UK & Ireland
Asian Development Bank
SWIFT Corporate Advisory Group
ICC Banking Commission
Aite Group
Opportunity Network
European Bank for Reconstruction (EBRD) Financial Institutions
Risk Insights
Goldman Sachs’ International Advisors
Greenlight Commerce
Euler Hermes Aktiengesellschaft
Trade & Forfaiting Review (TFR)
Vote Leave Business Council
Fintonia Group
Global Trade Review
Commerzbank AG
Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA)
Awash International Bank S.C.
AL Capital Management
Amber Road
Baker & McKenzie
Bank ABC
Bank of Cyprus
Barclays Bank
Berne Union
Bibendum Wine
BNP Paribas
Bond Asian Ventures Limited
British Arab Commercial Bank
BTL Group
Canadian High Commission
Celadon Capital
Chaucer Plc
City Farm Systems Ltd
Commerzbank AG
Commonwealth Bank of Australia
Continental Trading Co.
Creative Global Advisers (UK) LLP
CrowdBureau, LLC
Crown Agents Bank
Derby Records Management
Diagonal View Limited
Dints International
Dispark Ghana ltd
Equinox Global
Fine Treatment
GlaxoSmithKline plc
Global Water Fund
Heathrow Ltd
House of Commons
HSBC Bank Plc
ICBC (London) Plc
Institute for Global Expansion
Institute of Directors
International Bank of Yemen
International Chamber of Commerce
JBS Global (UK) Ltd
JoJo Maman Bebe
Khalij Islamic
Khalij Islamic (UK) Ltd
Kronenberg Foundation
M Power Associates
Mansion Central Brokers
Maple securities uk
Médecins Sans Frontières – Access Campaign
Mobilium Global Ltd.
New Dynamic Ltd
Opportunity Network
Pepper Energy Ltd
PetroChina International (London)
Redcliffe Capital
Sakae Holdings Ltd
Santander Global Corporate Banking
Santander UK plc
SME Chamber of India
Specsavers Optical Group
Strategic Management forum
Tenzor Ltd
The Lecture Club
Tierra Bonita Properties
Touch Surgery
Tungsten Network
UK Trade & Investment
UniCredit Bank
United Bank
US Bank
World Trade Organization
World Trade Organization
Zenith Bank UK Limited